Bring me that horizon.

And so, finally, the adventure begins.

As I type, I’m sitting in Birmingham Airport, waiting for my flight. I depart in an hour, and the next time I’ll see England after that will be (most likely) on the 22nd December.

Terminal 2 at Birmingham International Airport...

Birmingham Airport… so pretty! 😉 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The journey is already going well – the junction we needed to get off the M1 at for the airport was closed, so we were diverted somewhere else – then when I went through security, I was searched and my bags were submitted for a random drug swab! Clearly, I look like a shifty character, but nothing came up, so I’ll persevere.

This waiting lark is very boring, though. I imagine the rest of the day – after the flight – won’t be. I have to get from Düsseldorf to Paderborn by train, which should be an adventure in itself, then I have to find the person who’s coming to meet me and make my way to a new flat. I don’t even know what else there is to organise right now, but I’m sure some things will come up.

Still, it’s all rather exciting. Apparently Düsseldorf is going to be 24 degrees (75 for you Fahrenheit people ;)) and sunny, so that’ll be a nice change, and the getting there and organising things shouldn’t be too difficult.

Let’s hope I’m right!

Let the adventures begin…

Leave a Reply

